JCB 3cx White Cab

C

Claysonboy

Hi All
Newbie here
JCB 3cx project, bought a 1982 white cab, BMC498 engine, many leaking rams-
I could use some experienced advice,
Am trying to work through the rams slowly myself, seal kits not expensive, so the steering ram was easy, the backactor bucket ram fair enough, but the back actor main boom ram very difficult.
Biggest problem is opening the cap of gland i think it is referred to as, this older 3cx has 2 punch holes, rather than the large nut system on newer 3cx’s, afraid i let myself down and used chisel and lump hammer, so the punch holes are now craters,
But my question is whether the nut type glands/cap on the rod end from a black or grey cab 3cx ran would fit my machine, ie- is it otherwise the same ram
Again- early learning centre here very grateful for all guidance
Oh yes why do i want to do this myself, i work in a city office job and despite the struggle this work can be and my f… ups, this type of mechanical work i find unbelievably enjoyable, probably addictive, it takes my mind a million miles from my day job, and summer jobs on these machines put me thru uni. While i could drive them - i always wanted to fix them
Thank you
CB

T whiting

T whiting

The first thing you need to do is buy a set of c spanners before you mangle anything else there not overly expensive and make stripping rams much easier.

You can knock up your own spanner with a piece of scrap and a grinder

Once the seals are out of the cap you might be able to square up the notches on the cap with a grinder /die grinder I've no idea if the caps are the same but a new replacement the same isn't difficult to tighten with the right tools

S

Smiffy

The first thing you need to do is buy a set of c spanners before you mangle anything else there not overly expensive and make stripping rams much easier.

You can knock up your own spanner with a piece of scrap and a grinder