Welding setup

M

Maxus

Welding is something I've been meaning to get my head around for a while, would be pretty useful for making repairs to machinery... plus it sounds like a lot of fun and I'm creative! I can imagine myself making bespoke obelisks type ornaments for gardens too.

Can anyone recommend an 'off the grid' welding setup I.e generater/welder to get me, a total novice, started?

doobin

doobin

You're going to spend a LOT more money if you have to be off grid. Best bet would be a decent generator (15KVA min really) with AVR (essential), then take your pick of modern invertor MIG sets which will all also do stick.

Otherwise you're looking at a diesel welding generator, wire feed suitcase if you want to do MIG, and a much steeper learning curve.

And if you're off grid then a decent generator is always helpful. So that's the route I'd go down.

V8Druid

V8Druid

do it as well as you can,but learn to do it better
Welding is something I've been meaning to get my head around for a while, would be pretty useful for making repairs to machinery... plus it sounds like a lot of fun and I'm creative! I can imagine myself making bespoke obelisks type ornaments for gardens too.

Can anyone recommend an 'off the grid' welding setup I.e generater/welder to get me, a total novice, started?
how deep are your pockets :oops:

doobin

doobin

He's not looking at welding up buckets for a 30 ton machine lads?😲

I'd have thought something like this..

Over £2k to run stick only. He'll need MIG to make a decent job of garden ornaments etc. And presumably need a genny if off grid.

Lancs Lad

Lancs Lad

Depends on budget but we've been chuffed with this: it's incredibly easy to use if your starting out...honestly makes it a doddle.
And I looked at gennies at the time as it's supposed to run ok on a 7.5kva.
So something like this: https://www.generators-direct.co.uk...bTMHCiauKSgUGPeRYd4hroPV_dVL3powaAhdAEALw_wcB