Using Excel

Danny

Danny

Going to try and start using excel for pricing jobs, something ive never really used before.

Any tips / tricks for a complete novice?

Lancs Lad

Lancs Lad

There's plenty of templates online.
You should be able to setup a basic system that generates quotes etc from a template.
The online help and videos etc are Ok .
The office 365 package is worth getting so you can save everything to one drive.
No1 tip from me..setup auto save 🙄🙄saves tears. In fact if you work purely online as opposed to installing the software it autosaves automatically.

Failing that Google sheets is ok tbf for nowt.

Danny

Danny

Its more for schedule of rates than quotes

Quant | unit | rate | sub total

Have watched a few youtube videos and its just all new to me 🤩

V8Druid

V8Druid

do it as well as you can,but learn to do it better
Pam's pretty bloody good with excel ... what do you want to do exactly and i'll ask her how

F

fred

i wouldnt bother with excel its not the right tool for the job.

Have a look at www.clearbooks.co.uk its peanuts and does the lot from a web browser and is dead easy to use.

It will do the vat and cis online at click of a button if you need it. Can also take card payments if you do work for joe public.

I switched from Sage couple years ago as they wanted mega bucks for CIS, if I can use it anyone can! The accountant can also log in and do the tax stuff. I scan and attach everything so keep no paperwork at all.

doobin

doobin

i wouldnt bother with excel its not the right tool for the job.

Have a look at www.clearbooks.co.uk its peanuts and does the lot from a web browser and is dead easy to use.

It will do the vat and cis online at click of a button if you need it. Can also take card payments if you do work for joe public.